The Book of Mormon

Another Testament of Jesus Christ

What is the Book of Mormon?

The Book of Mormon is another testament of Jesus Christ. It is a book of scripture like the Bible.

The Bible is mainly about the life and teachings of the people of ancient Israel. The Book of Mormon, on the other hand, contains the traditions of Native Americans who also believed in Jesus Christ.

The Book of Mormon and the Bible contain the same doctrine, but they were written in different parts of the world. We as members of the Church of Jesus Christ believe that the Book of Mormon contains the fullness of the gospel of Jesus Christ.

Buchmormondeutsch

Order your free Book of Mormon now.

Start reading the Book of Mormon today! Order your own printed copy of the Book of Mormon today: free order, free delivery & totally no obligation. 

Order your free Book of Mormon now.

Start reading the Book of Mormon today! Order your own printed copy of the Book of Mormon today: free order, free delivery & totally no obligation. 

What is the Book of Mormon about?

The Book of Mormon begins with the account of a family living in Jerusalem about 600 years before the birth of Christ. After being warned by God, they fled Jerusalem to escape the destruction of the city. They traveled across the sea to settle a promised land in ancient America. The people later divided into two nations, and meanwhile God’s dealings with these nations are described.

The crowning event of the Book of Mormon is the personal ministry of the resurrected Jesus Christ among men. The Book of Mormon clearly explains what Christ taught. It teaches how we can receive joy in this life and salvation in the life to come.

ChristusinAmerika

The principal authors of the Book of Mormon

Prophets who lived in ancient America wrote the Book of Mormon. These prophets recorded their history, prophecies and teachings on bound metal plates. The records were then summarized and abridged by a prophet and historian named Mormon.

After Mormon’s death, his son Moroni completed the records and named the book “The Book of Mormon.” God told Moroni to hide the plates and promised that one day they would be brought forth again.

At the beginning of the 19th century, this promise was fulfilled. God called a young man named Joseph Smith to translate the plates and restore the Church of Jesus Christ. He was thus the first modern prophet and translated the plates by the power of God into what is known today as the Book of Mormon. 

Test images 16 %C3%97 9 cm 6

Start reading the Book of Mormon, today!

Read what is written in the introduction and first chapter of the Book of Mormon. You can download the PDF here. 

Start reading the Book of Mormon, today!

Read what is written in the introduction and first chapter of the Book of Mormon. You can download the PDF here. 

Teachings from the Book of Mormon

The main purpose of the Book of Mormon is to help all people realize that Jesus is the Christ, that He is the Savior of the world. The teaching/gospel of Jesus Christ is clearly explained: we must have faith, repent of our sins, be baptized, receive the gift of the Holy Spirit, and endure to the end.

The teaching also contains God’s plan of happiness, which gives life meaning and perspective.

The Book of Mormon teaches how baptism is performed (3 Nephi 11:22-28; 18; Moroni 8) and answers philosophical questions of the soul, such as the following:

     •What is the meaning of life?

     • Is there really a God?

     •Will I live after this life?

By studying the Book of Mormon, you can discover these truths of the gospel of Jesus Christ for yourself.


“And see that all this be done in wisdom and order; for it is not requisite that a man should run faster than he has strength. And further, it is expedient that he should be diligent, that thereby he might win the prize; therefore all things must be done in order.”

Mosiah 4 : 27


“Therefore take no thought, saying, What shall we eat? or, What shall we drink? or, Wherewithal shall we be clothed? For your heavenly Father knoweth that ye have need of all these things. But seek ye first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things shall be added unto you. ”

3 Nephi 13 : 31-33


“41 And moreover, I would desire that ye should consider on the blessed and happy state of those that keep the commandments of God. For behold, they are blessed in all things, both temporal and spiritual; and if they hold out faithful to the end they are received into heaven, that thereby they may dwell with God in a state of never-ending happiness. O remember, remember that these things are true; for the Lord God hath spoken it.”

Mosiah 2 : 41


“And moreover, I say unto you, that there shall be no other name given nor any other way nor means whereby salvation can come unto the children of men, only in and through the name of Christ, the Lord Omnipotent.”

Mosiah 3 : 17


“Wherefore, my beloved brethren, pray unto the Father with all the energy of heart, that ye may be filled with this love, which he hath bestowed upon all who are true followers of his Son, Jesus Christ;[und Töchter] that ye may become the sons of God…”

Moroni 7 : 48

family brass plates

Does the Book of Mormon replace the Bible?

No, of course not. The Book of Mormon is “another testament of Jesus Christ” and thus goes hand in hand with the Bible. Both describe God’s dealings with people as He teaches the same principles in different parts of the world.

These contain thousands of years of inspiration, guidance and instruction. The Book of Mormon also confirms what the Bible says about Jesus Christ and helps us to understand many other Christian doctrines (Mormon 7:8-9).

By studying both the Book of Mormon and the Bible, you will better understand who God is and what His plan is for you.

The Book of Mormon and The Bible

What makes the Book of Mormon so important?

You may be asking yourself, “If I already have the Bible, why do I need any more scriptures?

Good question! One of our core statements is that God reveals the truth to His children on earth and continues to do so. The Bible contains revelations of God written by prophets, but it does not contain everything God has ever said or will ever say. Even today He reveals His will to the living prophets and apostles (Ephesians 2:20). The Book of Mormon shows us that God speaks to all his children on earth and in all ages.

The Book of Mormon also helps explain and understand Bible passages. For example, the New Testament states that Christ was baptized to “fulfill all righteousness” (Matthew 3:14-15). The Book of Mormon explains what it means to fulfill all righteousness (see 2 Nephi 31:5-9). The Book of Mormon is also valuable because it preserves the records of those who saw Christ personally.

The Bible teaches, “By the mouth of two or three witnesses shall every word be established” (2 Corinthians 13:1). In accordance with this law, both the Book of Mormon and the Bible bear witness to Jesus Christ.

A man and the Book of Mormon

How can I know if the Book of Mormon is really true?

The only way for you to know if the Book of Mormon is true is for the Holy Spirit to confirm it. The final chapter of the book invites the reader to study the Book of Mormon, reflect on the message of Jesus Christ, and ask God if it is true. Those who do so will receive a personal testimony of their truthfulness from God.

Millions of members of the Church have walked this path and found out for themselves that the Book of Mormon is truly the Word of God.

More questions? Thereis an easy solution.

The best way to find answers about the Book of Mormon is to read it for yourself! Order your own printed copy of the Book of Mormon today.

More questions? Thereis an easy solution.

The best way to find answers about the Book of Mormon is to read it for yourself! Order your own printed copy of the Book of Mormon today.

More blogs & videos

Be inspired

Subscribe here to our newsletter to not miss any events, videos or blogs.

Das Buch Mormon

Ein Weiterer Zeuge für Jesus Christus



Was ist das Buch Mormon überhaupt?


Das Buch Mormon ist ein weiterer Zeuge für Jesus Christus. Es ist heilige Schrift wie die Bibel.

Die Bibel handelt hauptsächlich vom Leben und den Lehren der Menschen im alten Israel. Das Buch Mormon hingegen enthält die Überlieferungen von amerikanischen Ureinwohnern, die ebenfalls an Jesus Christus glaubten.

Das Buch Mormon und die Bibel enthalten also die selbe Lehre, wurden aber in verschiedenen Teilen der Welt geschrieben. Mitglieder der Kirche Jesu Christi glauben, dass das Buch Mormon die Fülle des Evangeliums Jesu Christi enthält.


eine frau liest das buch mormon



Bestell hier ein kostenloses Buch Mormon.

Fang gleich an, das Buch Mormon selbst zu lesen. Bestell noch heute dein eigenes, gedrucktes Exemplar des Buches Mormon: gratis Bestellung, kostenlose Lieferung & total unverbindlich. 


Worum geht das Buch Mormon?


Das Buch Mormon beginnt mit dem Bericht einer Familie, die etwa 600 Jahre vor Christi Geburt in Jerusalem lebte. Nachdem sie von Gott gewarnt wurden, fliehen sie aus Jerusalem um der Zerstörung der Stadt zu entgehen. Sie reisen über das Meer um ein verheißenes Land im alten Amerika zu besiedeln. Das Volk spaltet sich später in zwei Nationen auf und es wird der Umgang Gottes mit diesen Nationen beschrieben.

Das wichtigste Ereignis im Buch Mormon ist das persönliche Wirken des auferstandenen Jesus Christus bei den Menschen. Das Buch Mormon erklärt deutlich was Christus gelehrt hat. Es erläutert, wie wir Freude in diesem Leben und Erlösung im kommenden Leben erhalten können.


Jesus Christus im Buch Mormon. Christus erscheint den Nephiten.




Die Hauptautoren des Buches Mormon


Propheten, die im alten Amerika gelebt haben, schrieben das Buch Mormon. Diese Propheten hielten ihre Geschichte, Prophezeiungen und Lehren auf gebundenen Metallplatten fest. Die Aufzeichnungen wurden dann von einem Propheten und Historiker, namens Mormon zusammengefasst und gekürzt.

Nach Mormons Tod vervollständigte sein Sohn Moroni die Aufzeichnungen. Gott befahl Moroni, die Platten zu vergraben und versprach, dass diese eines Tages wieder hervorgeholt werden würden.

Anfang des 19. Jahrhunderts wurde dieses Versprechen erfüllt. Gott berief einen Jungen namens Joseph Smith damit, die Platten zu übersetzen und die Kirche Jesu Christi wiederherzustellen: Also der erste neuzeitige Prophet zu sein. Er übersetzte die Platten durch die Macht Gottes in das, was heute als das Buch Mormon bekannt ist. 


autor des buches mormon





Fang jetzt an, das Buch Mormon zu lesen.

Lies was in der Einleitung und im ersten Kapital des Buches Mormon steht. Hier kannst du die PDF dafür runterladen und schonmal reinschnuppern. 



Lehren aus dem Buch Mormon


Die zentrale Aufgabe des Buches Mormon ist es allen Menschen dabei zu helfen zu erkennen, dass Jesus der Christus, also der Erlöser der Welt ist. Die Lehre, also das Evangelium Jesu Christi wird deutlich erklärt: wir müssen Glauben haben, von unseren Sünden umkehren, getauft werden, die Gabe des Heiligen Geistes empfangen und bis zum Ende ausharren.

Die Lehre enthält auch Gottes Plan des Glücklichseins, der dem Leben Sinn und Perspektive gibt.

Das Buch Mormon lehrt, wie die Taufe durchgeführt wird (3 Nephi 11:22-28; 18; Moroni 8) und beantwortet philosophische Fragen der Seele, wie zum Beispiel:

     • Was ist der Sinn des Lebens?

     • Gibt es wirklich einen Gott?

     • Werde ich nach dem Tod weiterleben?

Durch studieren im Buch Mormon kannst auch du diese Wahrheiten des Evangeliums Jesu Christi entdecken.


“Und seht zu, dass dies alles in Weisheit und Ordnung geschieht; denn es ist nicht erforderlich, dass der Mensch schneller laufe, als er Kraft hat. Und weiter, es ist ratsam, dass er eifrig sei, auf dass er dadurch den Preis gewinne; darum muss alles in Ordnung geschehen.”

Mosia 4 : 27

“Darum sollt ihr nicht sorgen und sagen: Was werden wir essen? Oder: Was werden wir trinken? Oder: Womit werden wir uns kleiden? Denn euer himmlischer Vater weiß, dass ihr all dessen bedürft. Sondern trachtet ihr zuerst nach dem Reich Gottes und nach seiner Rechtschaffenheit, und dies alles wird euch hinzugefügt werden.”

3 Nephi 13 : 31-33

“Und weiter wünschte ich, ihr würdet den gesegneten und glücklichen Zustand derjenigen betrachten, die die Gebote Gottes halten. Denn siehe, sie sind gesegnet in allem, sowohl zeitlich als auch geistig, und wenn sie bis ans Ende getreulich aushalten, werden sie in den Himmel aufgenommen, sodass sie dadurch mit Gott in einem Zustand nie endenden Glücks weilen. O denkt daran, denkt daran, dass dies wahr ist; denn Gott, der Herr, hat es gesprochen.”

Mosia 2 : 41

“Und ferner sage ich euch, dass kein anderer Name noch irgendein anderer Weg oder ein anderes Mittel gegeben wird, wodurch den Menschenkindern Errettung zuteilwerden kann, als nur im und durch den Namen Christi, des Herrn, des Allmächtigen.”

Mosia 3 : 17

“Betet mit der ganzen Kraft des Herzens zum Vater, dass ihr von dieser Liebe erfüllt werdet, die er all denen zuteilwerden lässt, die wahre Nachfolger seines Sohnes Jesus Christus sind; damit ihr Söhne [und Töchter] Gottes werdet…”

Moroni 7 : 48

jesus christus in Amerika


Ersetzt das Buch Mormon die Bibel?


Nein, auf gar keinen Fall. Das Buch Mormon ist "ein weiterer Zeuge von Jesus Christus" und geht somit Hand in Hand mit der Bibel. Beide beschreiben Gottes Umgang mit den Menschen in einem Teil der Welt und lehren die gleichen Prinzipien.

Diese enthalten Tausende von Jahren der Inspiration, Führung und Unterweisung. Das Buch Mormon bestätigt auch, was die Bibel über Jesus Christus sagt und hilft, viele andere christliche Lehren zu verstehen (Mormon 7,8-9).

Wenn du sowohl das Buch Mormon als auch die Bibel studieren, wirst du besser verstehen, wer Gott ist und was er für dich will.


das buch mormon und die bibel


Warum ist das Buch Mormon notwendig?


Du fragst dich vielleicht: Wenn ich schon die Bibel habe, warum brauche ich dann noch weitere Schriften?

Gute Frage! Eine unserer Kernaussage ist, dass Gott seinen Kindern auf der Erde die Wahrheit offenbart und dies immer tut. Die Bibel enthält von Propheten geschriebe Offenbarungen Gottes, aber sie enthält nicht alles, was Gott jemals gesagt hat oder jemals sagen wird. Auch heute offenbart er seinen Willen den lebenden Propheten und Aposteln (Epheser 2:20). Das Buch Mormon zeigt uns, dass Gott zu allen seinen Kindern auf der Erde und in allen Zeitaltern spricht.

Das Buch Mormon kann auch helfen, Bibelstellen zu klären und zu verstehen. Zum Beispiel heißt es im Neuen Testament, dass Christus getauft wurde, um "alle Gerechtigkeit zu erfüllen" (Matthäus 3:14-15). Das Buch Mormon erklärt, was es bedeutet, alle Gerechtigkeit zu erfüllen (siehe 2 Nephi 31:5-9). Das Buch Mormon ist auch deshalb so wertvoll, weil es die Aufzeichnungen derer bewahrt, die Christus persönlich gesehen haben.

Die Bibel lehrt: "Durch den Mund von zwei oder drei Zeugen wird jedes Wort bestätigt" (2 Korinther 13:1). In Übereinstimmung mit diesem Gesetz legen sowohl das Buch Mormon als auch die Bibel Zeugnis von Jesus Christus ab.


ein man und das buch mormon


Wie kann ich wissen, ob das Buch Mormon wirklich wahr ist?


Die einzige Möglichkeit zu wissen, ob das Buch Mormon wahr ist, ist die Bestätigung durch den Heiligen Geist. Das letzte Kapitel des Buches lädt den Leser ein, das Buch Mormon zu studieren, über die Botschaft von Jesus Christus nachzudenken und Gott zu fragen, ob es wahr ist. Wer dies tut, wird von Gott persönlich ein Zeugnis über seine Wahrhaftigkeit erhalten.

Millionen von Mitgliedern der Kirche haben diesen Weg beschritten und für sich selbst herausgefunden, dass das Buch Mormon wirklich das Wort Gottes ist.



Noch Fragen? Es gibt eine einfache Lösung.

Der beste Weg, Antworten auf deine Fragen über das Buch Mormon zu finden, ist, das Buch zu lesen. Bestell noch heute dein eigenes gedrucktes Exemplar des Buches Mormon, damit du selbst Antworten finden kannst.


Mehr Blogs & Videos